Today’s Lesson: Don’t judge a book by it’s cover

Today I have my glucose test for my pregnancy. Not a big deal but it does require me to sit in the lab office for a couple hours while my body processes the 75g of glucose I had to drink earlier. Well, while sitting here I am able to bare witness to a lot of interactions and a plethora of different and unique people. Within the last hour, these three things have happened:

1. Age is a funny thing: Some people look their age. Others do not. Everyone has to announce their date of birth as soon as they come in and I have made it sort of an entertainment to see how close I was at estimating their age. Apparently there are a lot of ladies who need glucose tests today. Most women are alone (like myself) but there was one who came in with her significant other. They were both kind of awkward people but I had estimated they might be boyfriend and girlfriend… Maybe late teens early twenties. Well… She was older than me! My age estimation is way off nowadays but it’s funny how you judge someone on their appearance and literally know nothing about them!

2. Amy: So there are a lot of pregnant ladies here and a lot of elderly here. Sometimes older people have a hard time hearing. The nurse came out looking for Amy and both an older gentleman and a pregnant lady got up. The older gentleman walked confidently over to the nurse as the pregnant lady sat back down, confused. The nurse was also confused. The man says brightly “surprise!!” Which made the nurse even more confused. She asked to verify the name, as she also thought he had heard it incorrectly. “My name is Amy!” He said to her and verified his last name. HE was the correct Amy.

3. In the hood: I am currently in a city with a large immigrant and minority population. Of course there are a lot of people here speaking different languages and some looking a bit more culturally diverse. An African American male walked in, chains on, pants low, walking with a swagger. I had expected a “Yo, dawg, I’m here for some bloodwork”. Instead, he was the most eloquent and polite speaker I had witnessed all morning. His grammar and vocabulary probably topped my own and even held the door for the nurse citing “ladies first!”

 

I am am fairly ashamed to be making these initial judgements about people because I know better. I don’t know why we even judge people so quickly the way we do. Is it society? The way we were brought up? I hate catching myself doing it because consciously, I know better than to do it. But it just strikes you sometimes, I guess.

So my lesson of the day: Don’t judge a book by it’s cover and keep an open mind. People will surprise you, so maybe that is the “fun” thing about judgements.

Leave a Reply

